three years of back to writing to be read.

I  started blogging three years ago when someone I know sent me their blog address and I felt this sudden need to write to be read. A friend of mine thinks its creepy, writing about yourself, your life for the world to read. “Are you looking for some kind of poisitive affirmation from ther world that how you live is correct? What is this need to share?” she asks me everytime she reads an entry of mine which is not generically vague and has to do with something that happens directly occuring in my life.

In the beginning, I used to defend myself. Having been a journal writer for most of my adolescent and adult life, I have a pretty chronological and somewhat detailed log of my life. But that’s just for me. And I have come to believe that in most true writers there is, perhaps hidden for some time, a need to share what they think, their writing- to put it out there for public perusal without truly ever needing a reaction. Once the words are out there to be read (in the cyberworld or otherwise) there is some measure of  peace in us- of having put something to rest, of having resolved something because the words no longer burden us.

Thats the best explanation I have come up with so far.

10 thoughts on “three years of back to writing to be read.

  1. i dont think that is the best explanantion. to me it is THE explanation!
    at least in your blog i sense that purpose. there are quite a few out there, which at most try to sound ‘cool’ and wannabe-ish. i mean someone who writes anything just to attract an audience.
    but i believe it is true writing that comes from within which really makes an impact. as compared to a generally vague post on a blog which doesnt have a focus, i’d prefer to read about a personal experience or emotion that has some effect on me.

    in any case, even if some ppl don’t agree with a piece of writing, it quite often promotes a healthy discussion in the comments, and then at the end progresses into a new thought. so it’s all good.

  2. i blog for so many reasons; it gives me an opportunity to keep my friends “in the loop” regardless of how hectic things are for us; plus whenever i’ve engaged in therapeutic venting on my blog, i’ve come away feeling lighter and always with new perspective…and i totally agree with your sentiments; as a writer, it’s so important for me to always record (in some form) what really happened…

  3. I read a quote today that reminded me of this post of yours 🙂

    “It’s the good girls who keep diaries; the bad girls never have the time.”

    -Tallulah Bankhead US movie actress (1903 – 1968)

  4. agree whole-heartedly. i’ve been blogging for 3+ for precisely the same reason. because there are all these words inside my head, screaming to get out. it’s great that they’re read but it would be okay, even if they weren’t. the purpose to just get it out of my system. putting them out there, giving them a form, helps me see things clearly.

Leave a Reply

