The judges are restored

All over facebook and my cell phone and the roads of Lahore, there were congratulatory dances and messages being exhanged on somewhat generic statement that “Pakistan’s judiciary has been restored”. After many months of uncertainty, confusion and wavering allegiances, every single Pakistani who still hopes for a turnaround for this country, on any level, latched his belief onto the most basic of things- that the concept – simply the idea- of  justice, back (if only in name) in our society, will change things. A firm believer in the good over evil story- I knew how Harry Potter would end way before I read it-  how can I not be happy? How can I not feel relieved in my heart that the most important of things in a society is back? And yet, its not only about the concept is it? Its also about the people who uphold it. We can talk about justice of course, but whose interpretation are we going to follow? We can talk about equality and fairness yes, but where is the somewhat untainted hero who will actually be the symbol we trust?

I am all for change. I am all for justice. I am all for every single vague abstract idea and concept that has been created to make us believe that things will get better. Because I honestly believe that things WILL get better- only thing is I have a niggling feeling we will have to do something about it ourselves.

“Laws can embody standards; governments can enforce laws–but the final task is not a task for government. It is a task for each and every one of us. Every time we turn our heads the other way when we see the law flouted–when we tolerate what we know to be wrong–when we close our eyes and ears to the corrupt because we are too busy, or too frightened–when we fail to speak up and speak out–we strike a blow against freedom and decency and justice.” Robert Francis Kennedy

5 thoughts on “The judges are restored

  1. Maybe we ‘will’ do something about it. Despite extreme cynicism, I really do want to believe that. Here’s to ‘hope’! *cheers*

  2. Dear Blogger,
    I am trying to find your email id on your blog but i can seem to locate it. If you could send me your ID on the email address mentioned above that would be great. I want to send you an invite for the blogger buzz campaign. We have been contacting a lot of blogger for this purpose. The reason why we are interested in sending you an invite is because our team like your style of blogging and the fact that your blog has some following too. The details of the blogger buzz campaign would be emailed to you. Hoping to see your msg in my inbox 🙂
    Regards,
    Shehneela
    http://www.stivya.com

Leave a Reply

